When the first fur traders arrived in the region, they found this island already inhabited by Algonquin people who also controlled river access. In 1686, Captain Chevalier de Troyes, leading a military expedition up the Ottawa River, remarked upon passing L’Isle-aux-Allumettes (the name means “island of matches”), “A Jesuit priest passing through here another time left behind a box of matches he always carried to start a fire. That is how L’Isle-aux-Allumettes got its name.” In 1849, there were 150 Catholic families and 25 Protestant families living here. Discover this island rich in history, part of the Chemins d’eau tourist route.
heritage buildings and sites